California DRE: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Training

Number of Hours Required

8 Hours

State-Specific Requirement


Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! Click here to see them.

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

Online self-study

Live Stream webinar

Live Class

California Department of Real Estate Requirement Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in California.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 8 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 8 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

California DRE Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are the California DRE requirements for MLO Continuing Education?

The NMLS California DRE State Licensing Requirements state that licensed MLOs must complete at least 8 hours of NMLS continuing education, broken into the following California DRE NMLS Continuing Education categories: 

  • Three hours of Federal Law
  • Two hours of ethics
  • Two hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • One hour of electives

MLOs licensed with the Department of Real Estate only need to take a minimum of 8 hours of California DRE MLO Continuing Education annually.

California DRE Mortgage Licensing Information

Mortgage loan originators licensed with the DRE don’t require any state-specific California DRE CE courses; they only need to take the 8 hours of California DRE NMLS continuing education as required by the federal SAFE Act. 


Neither newly licensed MLOs nor those participating in continuing education need to take California state-specific courses for their California DRE mortgage license renewal if licensed by the Department of Real Estate; there are no NMLS continuing education requirements that require state-specific courses. 

If you are applying for additional MLO state licenses, you will be required to complete the requirements determined by each individual state.

How do I contact California DRE Mortgage Licensing?

To contact California DRE Mortgage Licensing, please contact the California Department of Real Estate: 

Phone: 877-373-4542


What happens if my NMLS license expires in California DRE?

If your NMLS license expires in California DRE because you failed to meet the California DRE continuing education requirements, you will need to submit an application for your license to be reinstated. By the time you begin your application, you should have completed all of your required California DRE MLO continuing education courses. Without this information, the NMLS cannot reinstate your license. 


If you need to take your California DRE continuing education late, you can take Late California DRE NMLS Continuing Education Courses from Diehl. Our instructors will provide you with the necessary hours of education as required by the SAFE Act to help you successfully apply for MLO license reinstatement. 


Unlike other CE providers, we can send your course completion records to NMLS within 48 business hours to improve your chances of renewal and reinstatement. 


If your license has been expired for more than five years, you will have to begin the application process over again, including taking your NMLS exam and education again. With our NMLS Test Prep, we can help you pass your test the first time and get back into the mortgage industry in no time. 

What is the deadline to complete CE in California DRE?

The deadline to complete your CE is December 31st. However, this is the deadline for you to complete your renewal application, as well, which means that you’ll need to complete your CE well before this deadline for your best chances. MLOs with CA-DRE cannot apply to renew their license without first completing continuing education. 


It may take at least seven days for the NMLS database to be updated with your current information, including course completion. It is strongly recommended not to wait until the last minute to complete your CE, or you could be prevented from getting your license renewed on time.

How do I renew my California DRE License?

Renewing your California DRE License annually is easy:

1. Complete your CE
While the California DRE requires 8 hours of NMLS CE, you are prohibited from taking the same material two years in a row. To ensure your continuing education experience is as enriching as possible, we update our CE courses each year with new and exciting content.

2. Confirm Course Completion Records are Updated in the NMLS Database
The NMLS can take up to two business days to mark your license as eligible to renew after your course provider has banked your credits. For late CE, NMLS can take up to five days to bank your credits. 

3. Log Into NMLS to Renew

NMLS will walk you through the process of renewing your license. Be prepared to pay fees. 


Scroll to Top