Rhode Island: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Training

Number of Hours Required

8 Hours (7 hour Federal + 1 hour RI)

State-Specific Requirement

1-Hr RI

Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

Full Audio and Video! CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! Click here to see them.

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

Online CE

Live Stream

Live Class

Looking for the State CE course only? click below

RI CONTINUING EDUCATION Course

This is the state-specific education requirement for RI.

Rhode Island Requirement Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in Rhode Island.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 8 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 8 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Rhode Island Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are Rhode Island’s requirements for MLO Continuing Education?

The NMLS Continuing Education Requirements state that MLOs must complete 8 hours of Rhode Island MLO Continuing Education consisting of:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal Law
  • 2 hours of Ethics
  • 2 hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Lending
  • 1 hour of Rhode Island State-Specific Law


The Rhode Island state-specific course can be satisfied through a comprehensive state course or a state-specific elective. 

According to the federal SAFE Act, MLOs may not take the same Rhode Island CE courses for Rhode Island mortgage license renewal two years in a row. This is called the “Successive Year” rule. Diehl Education is committed to Continuing Education excellence, and as such, we develop new content each year to abide by the Successive Year policy.

For more information about Rhode Island MLO requirements, please read the NMLS Rhode Island MLO License Description.

How do I contact Rhode Island Mortgage Licensing?

To learn more about NMLS Continuing Education and Rhode Island mortgage license renewals, you can visit the NMLS website, contact the NMLS call Center at 855-665-7123 or the State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation:

What happens if my NMLS license expires in Rhode Island?

According to the SAFE ACT, MLOs must continue to maintain active licenses through annual Rhode Island CE courses and license renewal applications. If you do not maintain an active status on your license for five or more years, your NMLS Test will expire. You will be notified by the NMLS via mail when your Rhode Island NMLS Test is expiring. This letter will have more information on how you can reactivate your license. If your license is expired, you can expect to have to retake your NMLS exam(s) and MLO test prep is a great resource before you re-test.

If your license has not yet expired and has been inactive because you missed your Rhode Island NMLS Continuing Education or renewal deadline, you can take a Late CE Course to satisfy all of your outstanding requirements during a 60-day reinstatement period offered by NMLS. 

What is the deadline to complete CE in Rhode Island?

The deadline to complete CE coincides with your deadline for MLO license renewal, December 31. It’s important that you complete your CE before the deadline to ensure that your information is updated in the NMLS database on time. Pennsylvania MLOs may not attempt to renew their licenses without first completing CE. 

 

The following Rhode Island CE courses deadlines provided by NMLS can help you ensure that your license is renewed on time:

  • SMART Renewal Deadline: December 10
  • At-Risk Deadline: December 17
  • Guaranteed Missed Deadline: December 31
How does Diehl help MLOs prepare for mortgage license renewal?

Diehl Education does more than ensure that you complete the NMLS Rhode Island MLO Continuing Education requirements. With our Rhode Island Pre-Licensing and CE courses and Prep2Pass®, you can ensure that you pass your MLO test on the first attempt and complete your CE on-time.

 

We provide courses for all states so that you can even add a state license and make sure that you’re meeting all of your requirements easily. 

 

Not only that, but our coursework is updated annually so that you have access to content that’s up-to-date, and you’ll never have to worry about the Successive Year rule. 

Scroll to Top