North Carolina: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Training

Number of Hours Required

8 Hours (7 hour Federal + 1 hour NC)

State-Specific Requirement

Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

Full Audio! CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! Click here to see them.

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

North Carolina CE

Online self-study

Live Stream Webinar

Live Class

Looking for the State cE course only? choose which version you'd like below

1-Hour NC Online Self-Study CE

1-Hour NC live Stream Webinar CE

North Carolina Requirement Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in North Carolina.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 8 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 8 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

North Carolina Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are the North Carolina continuing education requirements?

The NMLS North Carolina State Licensing requirements state that licensed MLOS must complete at least 8 hours of North Carolina MLO continuing education. These 8 hours must include: 

  • Three hours of Federal Law
  • Two hours of ethics
  • Two hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • One hour of North Carolina mortgage education


North Carolina NMLS continuing education requires that MLOs comply with the SAFE ACT “successive years” rule, which states that they cannot take the same CE courses for two consecutive years. 


MLOs wishing to get additional MLO state licenses will be required to take the courses determined by those individual states.  

PE is valid for three years. However, if a license expires, you are required to retake your expired test. 


How do I contact North Carolina Mortgage Licensing?

You can contact North Carolina Mortgage Licensing through the North Carolina Commissioner of Banks Office at:

Phone: 919-733-3016

Email: [email protected]


What happens if my NMLS license expires in North Carolina?

If your NMLS license expires in North Carolina, you will be required to retake your exam to meet state requirements for licensure. If you did not take your North Carolina CE courses, you must do so through Late CE from Diehl Education to satisfy your existing NMLS Continuing Education Requirements


North Carolina mortgage license renewal is much easier than activation because you don’t require a new application, and you won’t have to retake any exams. To avoid your license expiring, continue to renew it yearly after taking your North Carolina NMLS continuing education courses. 

If your license expired because you left the mortgage industry, but you now wish to return, you’ll still need to satisfy any CE deficiencies for the years that you were still licensed and retake your exam and any NMLS test prep to reactivate your license.

What is the deadline to complete CE in North Carolina?

The deadlines to complete your CE in North Carolina are not the same in every state. While they aren’t legally required, it is recommended that you complete your North Carolina MLO continuing education before these dates:

  • SMART Renewal Deadline: December 10
  • At-Risk Deadline: December 17
  • Guaranteed Missed Deadline: December 31


Completing your CE before the SMART deadline gives you the best odds of your information being updated in the NMLS database in time for your renewal. Remember that after you’ve completed your course, your information must be sent to the database, which takes time to update. If you complete your course too late, you run the risk of not being able to renew your license for the next year. 

What continuing education hours are needed to annually renew a North Carolina MLO license?

To renew your North Carolina MLO license, you must complete the following: 

  • 3 hours of Federal Law, which will cover the SAFE Act, ECOA, and the TILA-RESPA Rule
  • 2 hours of Ethics, including fraud and consumer protection
  • 2 hours of Non-traditional mortgage lending, such as Non-QM loans
  • 1 hour of state-specific continuing education


Scroll to Top