New: Texas OCCC: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Courses

Number of Hours Required

8 Hours

State-Specific Requirement


Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! Click here to see them.

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

Online CE

Live Stream

Live Class

Texas OCCC Requirement Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in Texas.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 8 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 8 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Texas OCCC Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are the Texas OCCC MLO Continuing Education Requirements?

According to the NMLS Texas OCCC State Licensing Requirements, licensed MLOs must take at least 8 hours of continuing education. The NMLS Continuing education requirements are:

  • Three hours of Federal law
  • Two hours of Ethics
  • Two hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • One hour of electives

Texas OCCC Mortgage Licensing Information

Texas-OCCC MLOs must not take the same CE courses two years in a row while satisfying their 8-hours of continuing education. Read on to learn more about Texas OCCC NMLS licensing.

How do I contact Texas OCCC Mortgage Licensing?

For questions or concerns about Texas OCCC MLO continuing education, you can contact Texas OCCC mortgage licensing through the Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner by:

Phone: 800-538-1579


What happens if my NMLS license expires in Texas OCCC?

If your NMLS license has expired, you will have to retake your exam. To qualify for reinstatement, you must have met the Texas OCCC mortgage license renewal requirements, including the Texas OCCC CE courses. If you have not yet done so, you can take Late CE from Diehl Education to satisfy these requirements. 

Your NMLS exam will only expire if your license has been inactive for a period of five or more years. When your license is close to expiring, you will receive a letter in the mail from NMLS about how to proceed to avoid expiration. 

To avoid retaking your exam, you should make sure that you renew your license on time every single year and take the Texas OCCC NMLS Continuing Education courses as early as possible. If your license expired because you left the mortgage industry for a number of years, you might still need to satisfy your CE deficiencies from the previous years when your license was still active in order to reactivate it. 

What is the deadline to complete CE in Texas OCCC?

The deadline to complete CE in Texas OCCC is December 31st. However, it’s important to also note that that is the deadline for your license renewal. Completing the Texas OCCC MLO continuing education courses too close to this deadline could put you at risk of not being able to renew your license. 


It takes at least a few days for your course provider to submit your course completion to NMLS and may take a few days for the NMLS database to update. Diehl Education can submit your course completion within 24 to 48 business hours, but it’s still important that you leave enough time to ensure NMLS has your information on file before you try to renew your license. 

How many hours of state-specific continuing education is required yearly in Texas OCCC for MLO?

The Texas OCCC continuing education requirements are 8 hours total, with 7 hours of federal requirements and one hour of elective CE. Diehl Education provides both the full course and the one-hour state-specific course. 

If you have
additional MLO state licenses, you will be required to meet the Texas OCCC NMLS continuing education requirements of 8-hours of CE annually. 

Scroll to Top