New Jersey: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Training

Number of Hours Required

12 Hours (7 hour Federal + 2 hour NJ +3 hours of Electives)

State-Specific Requirement

2-Hr NJ

Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

Full Audio and Video. CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! 

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

Online CE

Live Stream

Live Class

Looking for the State CE course only? click below

nJ CONTINUING EDUCATION Course

This is the state-specific education requirement for NJ.

New Jersey Requirement Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in New Jersey.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 12 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 12 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

New Jersey Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are New Jersey’s requirements for MLO Continuing Education?

MLOs must complete 12 hours of New Jersey NMLS Continuing Education to satisfy state and federal NMLS requirements. Required New Jersey CE courses include:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal Law
  • 2 hours of Ethics
  • 2 hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Lending
  • 3 hours of Electives
  • 2 hours of State-Specific Education


MLOs must complete at least 8 hours of Continuing Education each year to maintain their NMLS licensure.


To learn more about state-specific requirements, you can refer to the
NMLS New Jersey MLO License Description. Not licensed? For information on getting your MLO license, visit our New Jersey NMLS Pre-Licensing Course page.

How do I contact New Jersey Mortgage Licensing?

For questions regarding NMLS Continuing Education (CE), please see the New Jersey page on the NMLS website. You can contact the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance at:

What happens if my NMLS license expires in New Jersey?

If your MLO state licenses expire, you will be required to take one or more Late CE courses, all of your CE credits NJ again, along with the test that all newly-licensed MLOs must take. It’s recommended to take practice tests with Prep2Pass® to ensure that you know all of the most up-to-date information so you can regain your New Jersey MLO license quickly. 

 

To reactivate your NJ MLO license, you must take all remaining New Jersey MLO Continuing Education credits before applying for New Jersey Mortgage License Renewal.

 

If you do need to retake your NMLS MLO exam, you can contact the NMLS Site and for any questions the NMLS Call Center can be reached at 855-665-7123. If you miss your deadline, you can take a Late CE course or New Jersey MLO practice exam and NMLS SAFE test prep to ensure that your license will be reinstated. 

What is the deadline to complete CE in New Jersey?

MLOs in New Jersey may not apply for license renewal until their CE has been completed and sent to the NMLS. While the deadline to complete your CE is the same deadline to apply for your license renewal (December 31), it is recommended that you complete your New Jersey CE Courses at least seven days before the deadline to give your course providers enough time to send your course completion records to NMLS. It may also take time for the NMLS database to update with your records. If you completed your coursework on December 10, don’t expect to be able to renew your MLO license the next day. 

The deadlines published by NMLS are:

  • SMART Renewal Deadline: December 10
  • At-Risk Deadline: December 17
  • Guaranteed Missed Deadline: December 31

 

We recommend aiming for the SMART Deadline to ensure your course completion records are updated in the NMLS database on time. Diehl Education uses an efficient and engaging system to help our customers complete their CE requirements as quickly as possible. Upon completing CE, we’ll have your results delivered in as little as 48 hours.

Scroll to Top