California DFPI: NMLS Continuing Education Requirements & Training

Number of Hours Required

8 Hours (7 Hour Federal + 1 hour CA-DFPI)

State-Specific Requirement


Deadline to Complete CE

December 31

100% Updated

Full Audio! CE is updated every year, meaning that you can continue to use Diehl year after year without having to worry about the successive year rule.

Content Created by Diehl

All content is written by a team of mortgage professionals, and is developed from the ground-up with our instructional course design team. It’s taught in a way that is engaging for everyone. This is CE taken to the next level.

97% Student Satisfaction Rate

Our most recent survey has listed us as a 97% customer satisfaction rating. On top of that, so many satisfied students have shared their excitement on social media! Click here to see them.

Learning Paths Customized for YOU

Whether you like to learn in a live classroom environment or in a self-paced format, we have options that will help you get your CE done in an engaging and next-level CE way.

Online self-study

Live Stream webinar

Live Class

Looking for the 1-hour State CE only? click below

CA-DFPI continuing Education Course

This is the state-specific education requirement for CA-DFPI.

California Department of Business Oversight Details for Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance is an NMLS-approved provider for continuing education in California.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 annually

Hours Required by The State: 8 hours per year

Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance Offering: 8 hours

Seat Time: The NMLS  requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: Course completions are reported to the NMLS. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame and often within 48-72 business hours. Contact us for rush handling.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 70% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, Diehl Mortgage Training and Compliance will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

California DFPI Continuing
Education (CE) FAQs

What are the California DFPI MLO Continuing Education Requirements?

The NMLS California DFPI State Licensing Requirements state that licensed MLOS must complete at least 8 hours of NMLS continuing education, broken into the following categories: 

  • Three hours of Federal Law
  • Two hours of ethics
  • Two hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • One hour of CA-DFPI specific education

The deadline for submitting your license renewal is December 31, but you must complete your CE before then to ensure that the NMLS database has enough time to update with your current information and course completion records. We recommend having your CE finished by December 10 to give the database more than enough time to update.

California DFPI Mortgage Licensing Information

If you are an MLO licensed in another state, you will need to get additional MLO state licenses to be licensed in California. This means satisfying NMLS Continuing Education Requirements annually for both states in which you’re licensed. To add the California DFPI license to an existing NMLS license, you must take an additional two-hour CA-DFPI course, also known as an elective. 

How Do I Contact California DFPI Mortgage Licensing?

To learn more about California DFPI mortgage license renewal or California DFPI MLO continuing education, you can contact California DFPI Mortgage Licensing at the California Department of Financial Protection & Innovation by:

Phone: 213-576-7565

Email: [email protected]    


What happens if my NMLS license expires in California DFPI?

If you fail to meet the California DFPI continuing education requirements and your license expires, you will be required to submit an application for reinstatement. By this time, you should have also completed the California DFPI CE courses that you failed to complete before. 


You can take Late California DFPI NMLS Continuing Education Courses from Diehl, where we’ll provide you with all of the courses and hours you need to successfully apply for reinstatement. No matter which CE you take, we’ll send your course completion records to NMLS within 24 to 48 business hours to make sure that you have your best chance of reinstatement or renewal. 

What is a California DFPI license?

A California DFPI license is a license regulated by the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation, a department of the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency (BCSH). Another department that regulates MLO licenses is the California Department of Real Estate. The main difference between these two licenses is that the California Department of Real Estate does not have a requirement for instruction on state law. 

How can Diehl prepare MLO's for California DFPI mortgage license renewal?

Diehl helps MLO’s prepare for mortgage license renewal through California DFPI NMLS continuing education programs that provide up-to-date content written by a team of dedicated mortgage professionals annually. 

We know that MLOs are busy, so our programs provide you with the necessary 8-hour CE that you require for license renewal, no more, no less. We also offer formats for every type of learner, whether you prefer to learn in a classroom environment or self-paced format.

Scroll to Top